MEC Award

Well done to Kalawe Siyamthanda from our partner school Richard Varha High School for receiving 3rd place, Kalawe received the MEC award for excellent grade 12 results and was awarded a full scholarship.

End of Year Updates

Congratulations to the top achievers in each grade in 2017:

Grade 11 (194 Learners)

1st Peter Sisonke (11C) 8th Gwayishe Simisa (11D)
2nd Nokele Onela (11A) 9th May Asemahle (11D)
3rd Sigabi Litha (11D) 10th Dlakavu Lusanda (11C)
4th Quma Ovayo (11A) 11th Booi Anathi (11D)
5th Zindela Sivenathi (11A) 12th PhuphaniZizipho (11A)
6th Gladile Sakhumzi (11A) 13th SimoyanaSimbulele (11A)
7th Bonani Valentine (11D) 14th Datini Esihle (11B)
    15th Puwani Azukiwe (11A)


Grade 10 (265 Learners)

1st Mayoli Simamkele (10A) 8th Mfanta Siyamthanda (10A)
2nd Cakwebe Lilitha (10A) 9th Mvoto Siziphiwe (10A)
3rd Qomiyana Unam (10A) 10th Mathanjana Luyathenjwa (10A)
4th Daniso Zukhanye (10C) 11th Nakani Simamkele (10A)
5th Dyasi Hlela (10B) 12th Ngcangca Avuyile (10A)
6th Sontashe Anam (10D) 13th Mbalula Africa (10C)
7th Bevu Khanya (10A) 14th Mahote Lindokuhle (10D)
    15th Ngam Siphumle (10A)


Grade 9 (278 Learners)

1st Jezile Qhayiya (9D) 8th Dyantyisi Manqoba (9E)
2nd Dyantyi Khanyolwethu (10E) 9th Vara Sonwabiso (9B)
3rd Booi Sinalo (9C) 10th Ngesi Iviwe (9D)
4th Tyobeka Juliet (9C) 11th Mfenqe Liyema (9B)
5th Fass Alomzi (9B) 12th Best Sinoyolo (9A)
6th Mahlaza Siphelele (9E) 13th Macanyana Lingelihle (9C)
7th Moya Thembalethu (9E) 14th Diko Asakhe (9B)
    15th Dweba Zuqhame (9E)


Grade 8 (291 Learners)

1st Jolingana Bongeka (8C) 8th Ngqumaza Silindokuhle (8E)
2nd Matoti Thina (8E) 9th Skade Khayakazi (8B)
3rd Echefu Bianca (8A) 10th Fonjana Simanye (8A)
4th Matini Alizwa (8A) 11th Mtiki Zukhanyise (8D)
5th Dondolo Hlumelo (8C) 12th Biko Hope (8B)
6th Booi Liyema (8B) 13th Mbinambina Amahle (8C)
7th Sauli Naye (8D) 14th Papu Lubenathi (8D)
    15th Balezweni Azosule (8D)
Soha Alulutho (8E)

Grade 12 Mathematics Classes

All 2018 Grade 12 Mathematics learners (12A, 12C and 12D) are made aware that classes begin on 3 January 2018 at 08:00. All learners are expected to attend.


We bid farewell to Miss X.Y. Zantsi who retires after 25 years of service to Richard Varha. Miss Zantsi will be mostly missed for her dedication, passion, commitment and discipline inside and outside the classroom. She was always approachable to both staff and learners and always provided sound advice and guidance. She will be dearly missed.

Mr Tshefu also leaves Richard Varha after 26 years of service. We wish him all the best for his future endeavours.

New Staff

We welcome the following new members of staff:

  • Mr Tiso, who joins the school as a Deputy Principal
  • Ms Makwayiba, Ms Mqotsi, Mrs Damoyi and Mrs Hoko who join us as new teachers.
  • Mr Mqalo who joins the administration and support staff.

SGB Term

The incumbent SGB’s term will come to an end in March 2018. We commend the SGB on the wonderful work they have done for the school over the past 3 years. We have really noticed changes in the school during their tenure.

Top Educators

Two of our educators, Mrs Mgijima and Mrs Mrwashu, were awarded as the top performing educators in the Buffalo City District for consistency in performance of Grade 12 results in their respective subjects (Business Studies and Accounting).
We congratulate them for their performance and this recognition.

2018 Prefects

Prefect Selection 2018

The school has introduced a prefect system from 2017 to try and control issues of discipline within the school. Only learners in Grade 11 and 12 are selected as prefects and this is based on top performing learners only.